2016 from injury to injury

So post marathon phase was interesting. I spent some time resting and resetting, and of course looking forward to my next marathon or should I say torture date. It just so happens to be May 28 2017. You see before I even signed up for Hamilton’s Marathon I had this bright idea to “up my race” after getting an email from the Tamarack Ottawa Race Weekend people.  They said hey if you move up to the next distance for next year, we will charge you this years rate. Geee OK.   You see Ottawa was my first Half Marathon in 2015. That was to date my best year and I think its because of the training I was doing for that firs half.

2016 started out with injury carried over from the fall so I had decided to run the 5k and the 10k in Ottawa but didn’t think I had the time to get back up to the half distance.  Well about two weeks out from the race I decided I could do it! I sighed up as a charity running (again since I never sign up for these things on time).  That put me in for three races within about 15 hours. I started with the 5k at 4 pm. the 10k 6:30pm and then the half the following morning at 7:30am.  Sounds nuts doesn’t it, but I really did have a good time, despite the sweltering 41 degrees Celsius heat with full sun.   I had completed a few other runs through out the year as well, and missed a half marathon due to a bad chest cold.  Anyway after my marathon in November I took a break…perhaps to long of one really.  But I was back on the injury list again, so it was for the better.

The day after my marathon I had a pain in my right foot. I was smart about it and tried not to do too much. I did make it out for two 5k runs eventually, but found the pain was just not going away.  This brings me to today Dec 3o 2016. My year starting and ending with injury, training spotty at best but yet major accomplishments made. I am happy but not happy about it all.  I want to see something different for 2017. I want to do more, be more accomplish more in terms of my times and perhaps some physical changes too (aka I may have taken the eat what you want after a marathon a little to far). I will see a podiatrist on Jan 2 to discuss my foot, and the possibility I have been dealing with a stress fracture. That is my self diagnosis and have been treating it as such, which is not a bad thing. But I don’t know enough about that area of the foot so perhaps its a tendon or ligament. What I do know is that its been 8 full weeks since I ran the marathon, and it still hurts, although it is significantly better than when it started.

I am feeling a little sad that I can not participate in the New Years Day Resolution Run which the Running Room puts on all over Canada. I had signed up hoping to start the year off on a good foot….little did I know I would have a bad foot…. Since I will not see the DR until the next day  I have decided that to do the run would not be in my best interest.  It is my hope that this will clear soon and I will be well on my way to training for my next big race! Good bye 2016 year of accomplishment, and WELCOME 2017 year of success!

 

One thought on “2016 from injury to injury

  1. Chin up and keep spirits high as this obstacle will only bring opportunities ahead! Time for growth and a learning curve in other areas. Do some inner work and seriously see an osteopath, as they will look further up the chain than just the foot! You can still run but just maybe you’ll pair your running up with some cross fit or another type of training that will help to strengthen your body, bringing things into balance.
    Love and fun on this journey ahead! Cheers and here’s to 2017!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

